The State Water Corporation (State Water) was established as a state-owned corporation by the State Water Corporation Act 2004 on 1 July 2004. State Water's establishment as the rural bulk water delivery business in NSW was an important element of the government's water reforms. For further information on State Water's business, visit State Water Corporation.

State Water is listed as a major utility under Schedule 2 of the Water Management Act 2000 and Schedule 3 of the Water Act 1912. A deemed approval was issued for all of State Water's existing structures across the state under Schedule 8 of the State Water Corporation Act 2004. This approval however, did not include detailed conditions necessary to guide the use of the works in each river system such as for releasing environmental water, transferring bulk water, delivering water, managing floods and water quality issues, or to undertake monitoring and reporting. The deemed approval is gradually being replaced by 'water supply work approvals' which contain both the conditions from an applicable water sharing plan and other conditions that address how the works may be used.

A total of 14 water supply work approvals will be required to cover all of State Water's works and fully replace the deemed approval. Eleven approvals issued to date are listed in the table below. Where a water sharing plan does not yet exist, a water management licence (under the Water Act 1912) with equivalent conditions is issued instead. Two such licences have been issued to date.

Work is continuing to develop the remaining approvals and licences for all State Water operated dams and weirs.

Approvals and licences

Approval/Licence Authorised works
Bega Brogo Water Supply Work Approval (PDF 335 KB) Brogo Dam
Gwydir Water Supply Work Approval (PDF 184 KB) Copeton Dam, Boolooroo, Combadello, Tareelaroi and Tyreel weirs and regulators
Hunter Water Supply Work Approval (PDF 351 KB) Glenbawn and Glennies Creek Dams
Lachlan Water Supply Work Approval (PDF 251 KB) Wyangala Dam, Lake Brewster, Lake Cargelligo, and weirs and regulators
Macquarie Cudgegong Water Supply Work Approval (PDF 257 KB) Burrendong and Windamere Dams, and weirs and regulators
Murrumbidgee Water Supply Work Approval (PDF 730 KB) Burrinjuck and Blowering Dams, and weirs and regulators
Namoi Water Supply Work Approval (PDF 275 KB) Keepit and Split Rock Dams, and weirs
NSW Border Rivers Water Supply Work Approval (PDF 240 KB) Pindari Dam
Paterson Water Supply Work Approval (PDF 170 KB) Lostock Dam
Peel Water Supply Work Approval (PDF 139 KB) Chaffey Dam
Richmond Water Supply Work Approval (PDF 222 KB) Toonumbar Dam
Water Management Licence for the two regulators on Muggabah and Merrimajeel Creeks (PDF 197 KB) Muggabah Creek and Merrimajeel Creek regulators
Water Management Licence for the Fish River Water Supply Scheme (PDF 2 MB) Oberon Dam, Duckmaloi Weir and Rydal Dam

A map showing the area and works covered by each approval may be found in Attachment 1 (of Schedule 1) of each approval.

For information on water sharing go to Commenced water sharing plans.

For information on corporate licences or to report an incident, please call 1800 353 104.